clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Interesting Facts About the Miami Marlins

The Miami Marlins are one of the most exciting teams in baseball. They have a young, talented core that includes players like Giancarlo Stanton, Jose Fernandez, and Christian Yelich. The Marlins also have a strong farm system, which means they should be able to compete for years to come.

The Miami Marlins began their existence as the Florida Marlins, an expansion team in the National League that began to play in 1993. The team was named after the Marlins, a saltwater fish found in the area. The team’s colors, orange and teal, were chosen to represent the colors of the fish.

In 2012, the team changed its name to the Miami Marlins and unveiled a new logo and color scheme. The new colors were blue, white, and yellow, and the new logo featured a marlin leaping out of the water. The team’s name and colors were chosen to reflect the city of Miami and its Latin heritage.

Fun facts about the Miami Marlins

- The Marlins have competed in the National League (NL) East division since their inception in 1993.

- The team played their home games at Marlins Park from 2012 to 2020. The stadium was renamed LoanDepot Park in 2021.

- The Marlins have won two World Series championships, both as the “Florida Marlins”.

- The Florida Marlins upset the Cleveland Indians four games to three in one of the most memorable World Series finales, taking the last game on a walk-off single by Edgar Renteria that brought in Craig Counsell.

- In only their fifth season, the Marlins became the first wild card club to ever win the World Series. Must have felt like hitting the jackpot at PlayAmo casino with your last few cents.

- The Marlins are one of only two teams in MLB history to have won a World Series in their first five seasons.

- One of the Miami Marlins’ best players, outfielder Giancarlo Stanton, is also one of the heaviest players in Major League Baseball.

- The Miami Marlins have had some success in recent years with players who were originally drafted by other teams.

- The team won the World Series in 1997 and 2003.

- In 2012, the team moved to a new ballpark and became the Miami Marlins.

- The team has had nine managers in its history: Rene Lachemann, John Boles, Jeff Torborg, Jack McKeon, Joe Girardi, Ozzie Guillen, Mike Redmond, Dan Jennings and Don Mattingly.

- The Marlins have had four players win the Rookie of the Year Award: Dontrelle Willis (2003),Hanley Ramirez (2006), Chris Coghlan (2009), and Jose Fernandez (2013).

- The team has had one MVP Award winner: Giancarlo Stanton (2017)