clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Don Mattingly named NL Manager of the Year

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America selected Mattingly for the award in a landslide.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

MLB: SEP 09 Marlins at Braves Photo by Rich von Biberstein/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Congrats to Don Mattingly who was voted 2020 National League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA), as announced Tuesday on MLB Network. The Marlins skipper received 20 of the 30 first-place votes to comfortably beat out San Diego’s Jayce Tingler and Chicago’s David Ross for the award. Kevin Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays got American League honors.

Mattingly received 124 points during the balloting, the highest total for any Manager of the Year in either league since Terry Francona (AL, 2016). However, Cash surpassed him a few minutes later with 126 points. Complete voting results have been posted to the BBWAA’s website.’s Joe Frisaro succinctly made the case for why Mattingly was so deserving of recognition (Frisaro is a BBWAA member, but didn’t vote for the award this year):

Mattingly’s even-headed demeanor was crucial in an unprecedented year where MLB and the world dealt with the coronavirus pandemic. No manager dealt with more adversity than Mattingly. In the first week of the season alone, the Marlins had 18 players test COVID-19 positive. At the time, the team spent more than a week self-quarantined in a hotel in Philadelphia. When they were cleared to play, the Marlins rolled off five straight wins. In all, the Marlins used 61 different players, including 18 players making their MLB debuts. Mattingly admitted there were times he didn’t recognize either the names or faces of some of the players added to the roster. Yet, he repeatedly made no excuses.

This was the 59-year-old’s 10th season as a major league manager—he held that position for the Dodgers (2011-2015) and has been in Miami ever since. He’s only the fifth individual to win both the AL/NL MVP and Manager of the Year awards (h/t MLB Network).

There was serious doubt in late 2019 about Mattingly remaining with the Marlins. His contract was expiring and the club was careening towards a 57-105 record (second-worst in franchise history based on both winning percentage and Pythagorean winning percentage). However, they agreed to an extension that September...on the condition that he accept a reduced salary. The deal is guaranteed through the 2021 season with an option for 2022.

Jack McKeon (2003) and Joe Girardi (2006) similarly overachieved with “rebuilding” Marlins teams en route to winning NL Manager of the Year.

Miami/Florida Marlins BBWAA Award Winners, 1993-Present

Name Year Award
Name Year Award
Dontrelle Willis 2003 NL Rookie of the Year
Jack McKeon 2003 NL Manager of the Year
Hanley Ramírez 2006 NL Rookie of the Year
Joe Girardi 2006 NL Manager of the Year
Chris Coghlan 2009 NL Rookie of the Year
José Fernández 2013 NL Rookie of the Year
Giancarlo Stanton 2017 NL Most Valuable Player
Don Mattingly 2020 NL Manager of the Year

Here are a few of my favorite Mattingly GIFs from 2020:

Fish Stripes original GIF
Fish Stripes original GIF
Fish Stripes original GIF

Fish Stripes original GIF

The Fish Stripes GIF Database contains more than 300 original Marlins-related GIFs, and it’ll continue to expand during the MLB offseason. To receive full access, send a $5 payment to fishstripes on Venmo and a blank email message to with “GIF Database” in the subject line.