clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Earning Their Stripes: 5/22/21

The Miami Marlins minors went 3-1 once again in action on Saturday night.

Miami’s top three minor league affiliates were victorious on Saturday, while the fourth was on the wrong side of history.

The Marlins won at the major league level, the Triple-A level, the Double-A level, and the High-A level on Saturday. The Jupiter Hammerheads, on the other hand, were held hitless.

Recent Roster Moves

May 16

RHP C.J. Carter (PNS) placed on the 7-day injured list

RHP Josh Roberson assigned to Beloit from Jupiter

C Dustin Skelton (BEL) placed on the 7-day injured list

Marlins sent RHP Luis Madero outright to Jacksonville

Miami Marlins optioned LHP Braxton Garrett to Jacksonville

Pensacola sent RHP Tommy Eveld to Jupiter on rehab assignment

May 18

RHP Anthony Maldonado (PNS) placed on the seven-day injured list

RHP Zack Leban transferred from Beloit to Pensacola

RHP Jackson Rose assigned to Beloit from Jupiter

RHP Cody Poteet recalled from Jacksonville by Miami

RHP Elieser Hernandez joined Jumbo Shrimp on a rehab assignment

LHP Eliezer Rodriguez assigned to GCL Marlins from Jupiter

C Luis Arcaya assigned to Jupiter from GCL Marlins

C Casey Combs (JUP) placed on 7-day injured list

May 19

SS Devin Hairston assigned to Pensacola from Beloit

SS Demetrius Sims (PNS) placed on 7-day injured list

SS Yelinson Pena assigned to DSL Marlins.

May 22

Miami selected LHP Shawn Morimando’s contract from Jacksonville


Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp 8, Norfolk Tides 1

Jorge Alfaro opened the scoring in the fourth inning, hitting a three-run homer to left field. He smacked another in the sixth for good measure, this time to right field for two runs. The one-man onslaught was too much for the Tides, who are one loss from getting swept by the Shrimp in the six-game set.

In the bottom of the sixth, Norfolk notched their only run on a wild pitch. Monte Harrison got it back in the eighth with a solo shot, his third of the season. In the ninth inning, Luis Marté and Deven Marrero scored on separate fielding errors to close the scoring.

With 4,801 on hand at Harbor Park, Luis Madero struck out eight over five shutout innings for his third win against no losses. Madero put 49-of-73 over the plate, allowing two hits and walking one. Jake Fishman allowed the run in three innings of work, striking out two, walking two and giving up one hit. Zach Thompson pitched a scoreless ninth, striking out one batter and giving up one hit.

Aside from Alfaro’s pair of home runs, Lewin Díaz collected three singles. The series finale starts today at 1:05 PM, with the starting pitcher yet to be determined. The Shrimp are now 13-4, and Norfolk is 3-14.


Pensacola Blue Wahoos 6, Rocket City Trash Pandas 2

Pensacola improved to 10-7 with a sellout crowd of 5,038 on hand at Blue Wahoos Stadium on Saturday evening. Will Stewart started and whiffed seven in three innings, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks. Sean Guenther earned the win, striking out eight in three innings and getting 27-of-38 pitches over the plate. Tyler Stevens got his first save of the season, striking out four against one walk and one hit over four innings.

Tristan Pompey opened the scoring in the first inning with a two-run single. Nick Fortes added a run with a third-inning sacrifice fly. After Rocket City scored their two runs in the third, Connor Justus hit an RBI-single, and Devin Hairston followed with an RBI-double in the bottom of the frame. Lazaro Alonso scored the final run of the game with a solo shot in the fourth inning, his first of the year.

The final game of the six-game series kicks off tonight at 5:00 PM.


Beloit Snappers 8, Cedar Rapids Kernels 5

Alberto Guerrero didn’t allow a hit until the fourth inning, and finished with a victory and a quality start after striking out 10 in six innings. He plated 62-of-84 offerings, walking one and allowing three runs on four hits.

Griffin Conine opened the scoring with a solo shot in the second inning, then Thomas Jones doubled the lead with a third-inning two-bag-RBI. The lead held until the sixth, when Spencer Steer hit a three-run shot off Guerrero.

In the seventh, Conine drove in a run by drawing a walk, and Ricky Aracena reacquired the lead with a sacrifice fly. In the next inning, Beloit scored four more on a Ynmanol Marinez RBI-double, a two run error, and a Conine RBI-single.

With 2,018 in the stands at Perfect Game Field, the Snappers improved to 9-8 for the season. Evan Brabrand struck out two in a scoreless inning despite allowing three baserunners. Josh Roberston struck out four batters in two innings, allowing two runs on three hits and a walk. Beloit and Cedar Rapids will conclude the series starting at 3:05 PM today.


Jupiter Hammerheads 0, Daytona Tortugas 1

With 1,194 in attendance at Jackie Robinson Ballpark, the Hammerheads went 0-for-25 from the plate and struck out 16 times. They did draw seven walks, but were unable to cross the plate.

The Tortugas held Jupiter hitless by using five pitchers. James Proctor (5.0 IP, 1 BB, 11K), Vincent Timpanelli (2.0 IP, 3 BB, 5 SO), Ricky Karcher (1 pitch), Nick Hanson (1.0 IP, 2 BB), and Carson Spiers (1.0 IP, 1 BB) each had a hand in Jupiter’s setback.

Despite the hard day at the plate, Nasim Nuñez still managed to steal a base, his 12th of the season to lead the Low-A Southeast. Late this afternoon, M.D. Johnson will get the start in the series finale, starting at 5:35 PM.

Checking in with the Top 30 MLB Pipeline Prospects

  1. Sixto Sánchez (JAX IL)
  2. J.J. Bleday (PEN) 0-for-2, 1 R, 2 BB, 1 SO, .556 OPS
  3. Max Meyer (PEN)
  4. Edward Cabrera (JAX IL)
  5. Lewin Díaz (JAX) 3-for-4, 2 R, .810 OPS
  6. Jesús Sánchez (JAX) 0-for-4, 1 SO, 1.433 OPS
  7. Braxton Garrett (JAX)
  8. José Devers (JAX) 0-for-4, .616 OPS
  9. Dax Fulton (JUP)
  10. Nick Neidert (JAX)
  11. Victor Mesa Jr. (JUP) 0-for-3, 1 BB, 1 SO, .756 OPS
  12. Peyton Burdick (PEN) 1-for-3, 1 R, 1 BB, 2 SO, .709 OPS, 1 SB
  13. Nasim Nuñez (JUP) 0-for-3, 1 BB, 1 SO, .438 OPS, 1 SB
  14. Monte Harrison (JAX) 1-for-4, 1 HR, 2 R, 1 RBI, 1 BB, 1 SO, .730 OPS
  15. Kameron Misner (BEL) 1-for-3, 1 2b, 3 R, 2 BB, 1 SO, .596 OPS
  16. Connor Scott (BEL) 0-for-5, 2 SO, .840 OPS
  17. Kyle Nicolas (BEL)
  18. Griffin Conine (BEL) 2-for-3, 1 HR, 1 R, 3 RBI, 2 BB, .921 OPS, 1 A
  19. José Salas (rookie)
  20. Yiddi Cappe (rookie)
  21. Jerar Encarnación (PEN)
  22. Jordan Holloway (MIA)
  23. Zach McCambley (BEL)
  24. Jake Eder (PEN)
  25. Eury Pérez (JUP)
  26. Evan Fitterer (rookie)
  27. Paul Campbell (suspended)
  28. Will Banfield (BEL)
  29. Jorge Guzman (MIA IL)
  30. Osiris Johnson (JUP) 0-for 1, 2 BB, 1 SO, .567 OPS