clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marlins Morning News: The Jeter/Sherman era officially begins

The Marlins welcomed new ownership with a 15 – 9 loss.

MLB: Houston Astros at New York Yankees
I hope you’re as inspiring in the front office as you were in the dugout.
Adam Hunger-USA TODAY Sports

Marlins News

The Fish lost 15 – 9. Adam Conley was hit early and often lasting only 1.1 innings allowing six runs. As a team the Marlins allowed 15 runs. The Fish did score nine runs throughout the game mounting a rally in the ninth inning. A.J. Ellis led the team with three RBIs.

It’s official! Jeffrey Loria’s out and Derek Jeter and Bruce Sherman are in. MLB owners unanimously approved the sale. The deal’s expected to be closed within the next week.

As far as the offseason goes it’s anybody’s at the moment now that the Marlins will officially be under new management anything is possible. Rumors are swirling around of the expected departure of one or more of the Marlins starting outfield.

The Marlins return home Thursday and begin a four game series with the Braves who they haven’t played well against this season.

Around the League

The Cubs are flying the W! Again this season after beating St. Louis to help them secure the NL Central and their spot in the postseason. Chicago is expected to play against the Washington Nationals.

An unlikely pick at the beginning of 2017 the Minnesota Twins punched their ticket for October after the White Sox beat the Angels. After losing 100 games last season it appears the Twins have turned it out around to make their first postseason appearance since 2010.

Jose Altuve gets his 200th hit, making it four seasons in a row now. The first player with four 200 hit seasons in a row since Michael Young (03-07). Jose and Astros look to carry this momentum into the playoffs.

After 13 years Matt Cain will make his last start against the San Diego Padres and retire a San Francisco Giant. Cain was drafted in 2002 and throughout his career he’s a three-time all-star and a three-time World Series champion.