clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fish Wrap: Marlins 4, Rockies 1, Anibal Sanchez Just Misses Second Career No-No

Anibal Sanchez did a little more than "flirt" with his second career no-no Friday night to open up the Marlins series with the Rockies at Sun Life Stadium. He wined and dined it, took it home to meet mom and dad, and had just about put a ring on it before a cheap single in the ninth broke up his chance at a second entry in the MLB history books.

All the Rockies were able to accomplish against Sanchez, who struck out nine, was an unearned run in the first. Dexter Fowler walked to lead off the game, and scored when Gaby Sanchez committed an error, flat-out missing a throw from Emilio Bonifacio on Troy Tulowitzki's routine grounder to third. 

After the unearned run, Anibal dominated the Rockies until the top of the ninth when Dexter Fowler's broken-bat bleeder to right was the measly hit that busted up the no-no. After the no-hit bid ended, Scott Cousins helped Anibal hold the Rockies to one hit. He made a nice dive to nab Jonathan Herrera's liner to left, and turned it to double off Fowler at first. A grounder to first ended the game, and preserved the one-hitter.

Anibal threw a career-high 123 pitches to finish his second career complete game 1-hitter, and give the Marlins their fourth win in a row. 

Oh, and the Marlins scored some runs in the game, too. 

Chris Coghlan led off the bottom of the first with a home run off of Jhoulys Chacin, who gave up four runs to the Fish in his five innings of work. 

In the second, the Marlins added two more. With Cousins on first, Bonifacio hit a ground rule double to advance him to third, and Anibal Sanchez helped himself out, executing the suicide squeeze to make it 2-1 in favor of the Fish. Coghlan's groundout scored Emilio Bonifacio to put the Marlins up 3-1 after two.

Gaby Sanchez topped off the Marlins scoring with a home run to lead off the third.

[Note from craig] While it is being reported, here and everywhere else, that Gaby dropped the ball, that is incorrect. He just flat out missed it and the throw hit him in the leg.