clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Andre Dawson Gets the Call

The votes are in, no matter how tight they were, and Hawk is officially headed to Cooperstown.

Andre Dawson was the sole player elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame Wednesday, which only serves to prove a piece of wisdom I have long held as a personal truth, that the ninth time is a charm. (It is. I promise.)

Andre Dawson has been elected to the Hall of Fame, while Bert Blyleven and Roberto Alomar fell just short of earning baseball's highest honor.

Dawson received 420 of 539 votes in voting announced Wednesday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, 15 more than the 75 percent necessary to gain election. The eight-time All-Star, appearing on the ballot for the ninth time, had fallen 44 votes short last year.

Blyleven had 400 votes, up from 338 last year, and will likely get in because he has two more tries on the BBWAA ballot.

Alomar received 397 votes in his first appearance and was followed by Jack Morris with 282.

Wow, it's got to suck to be Bert Blyleven right about now.

Congratulations, Hawk!