clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marlins Minor League Free Agents

This is the time of the year when those who are eligible can file for Minor League free agency.  To be eligible, basically, a player with six years of service after his first season can file if he is not on the 40-man roster.  Here is this year's list.

Florida (32)

Pitchers: LHP Willie Collazo, RHP Matt Desalvo, RHP Nate Field, RHP Jonathan Fulton, RHP William Glen, RHP Clay Hensley, RHP Brian Lawrence, RHP Carlos Martinez, RHP Nick McCurdy, RHP David Miller, RHP Kasey Olenberger, RHP Henry Owens, RHP Matt Peterson, RHP Levale Speigner, RHP Nick Ungs

Catchers: Michael Rabelo, Neil Wilson

Infielders: Christopher De La Cruz, John Lindsey, David Matranga, Louis Ott, Smelin Perez, Kevin Randel,  Rigoberto Silverio, Lee Mitchell, Rich Townsend, Geraldo Valentin

Outfielders: Ben Harrison, Erik Kanaby, Michael Ryan, Lorenzo Scott, Brandon Tripp


Rabelo, McCurdy, Silverio and Townsend spent all of the 2009 season on the DL.  So they might be a bit chancy for another club to sign.  Then again, maybe not.  Signing a minor league free agent basically costs nothing and the club's only obligation is to carry them all the way through spring training.  So normally someone will be willing to give them a shot.  Just because another team signs them doesn't necessarily mean they won't be back with the Marlins.  A couple of years ago Paul Hoover filed, went through spring training with some team and ended up once again being the Marlins Triple-A catcher.


Kinda sad to see Henry Owens name on the list.  For a little while in 2007 he was the closer for the Marlins and did a pretty good job, then he hurt his shoulder and ended up playing for Dr. Andrews team.  We have never seen him in a Marlins uniform since.