clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Anibal Sanchez in the WBC?

According to Joe Frisaro of MLB.com this is the situation with Anibal Sanchez.

If Anibal Sanchez wants to compete in the World Baseball Classic for Venezuela, the Marlins won't stand in the right-hander's way.

Marlins general manager Michael Hill said on Wednesday that the organization will not block Sanchez from competing for his native country.

In recent days, newspaper reports in Venezuela cited the Marlins didn't want Sanchez to play in the Classic because of fear of injury concerns.

"It's still under consideration," Hill said. "We haven't ruled anything out at this point."

 

Huh?!

So which is it?  Anibal gets to play or the club hasn't decided yet?