clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hanley Ramirez wins Marlins MVP

Hanley Ramirez for the second consecutive year was awarded the Marlins MVP by the baseball writers.

Shortstop Hanley Ramirez missed a fourth straight start Sunday but still had something to celebrate. He received his second consecutive Marlins Most Valuable Player award, given out by the South Florida chapter of the Baseball Writers Association if America.

"A lot of people on this team deserved that award,'' he said. And apparently some of his teammates agree.

Several players privately grumbled that they thought Jorge Cantu was the team's most valuable player. Cantu went into Sunday batting .279 with 29 home runs and 93 RBI. Manager Fredi Gonzalez has said he thinks Cantu has been Florida's most consistent player.

I'm sympathetic to those you who thought that the award should have gone to Cantu.  Of course, one could also make a case for Ricky Nolasco even though he only plays every fifth day. But not being a member of the South Florida chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America, I didn't get to vote.

Nonetheless, Hanley is a very deserving recipient.  It may have not been his best year but the Marlins rarely produce 30-30 guys.  In fact, Hanley was only the second one in the history of the franchise.

In other award news:

Three other Marlins were honored by the South Florida writers: Chris Volstad (Rookie), Luis Gonzalez (Charlie Hough Good Guy) and Alfredo Amezaga (Jeff Conine Mr. Marlin). 

The inaugural Conine award, which replaced the Most Improved designation, goes to the player who best embodies the spirit of the game through integrity and unselfish play. 

The Good Guy award, which goes to the player who best fosters a positive relationship with the media, was at least the fourth of Gonzalez's career. He also was honored three times in Arizona (1999, 2000 and 2006). 

Congratulations to all of the award winners!