clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dave Van Horne and the Ford C. Frick Award

Once again, Dave Van Horne made it to the 10 finalists, but didn't get the award.  This year the award went to Tony Kubek.  Thus making Mr. Kubek the fourth person to receive the award who played in the Major Leagues.  The other recipients who have Major League experience are Joe Garagiola, Bob Uecker and Jerry Coleman.

With Dave making the finals for the second year in-a-row, it is only a matter of time before he wins the award.  Eventually, Mr. Van Horne will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for broadcasters.  Guaranteed.

As a child I remember hearing games Kubek called on television, and honestly, they didn't do much for me.  Dave is a whole lot better.  And one day, he will be rewarded.

If you would like to know the history of the Ford C. Frick Award, go no further than here:

The Ford C. Frick Award