clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN post season awards

Today begins the SB Nation post season awards, starting off with the Manager of the Year.

Somethings hit a bit of a snag and I didn't receive the normal two ballots until after the playoffs were already underway.  When the ballots finally find there way to my inbox, I had about an hour to vote and send them back.  Needless to say, it didn't leave any time to ask GameFish or someone else to vote.  Therefore, FishStripes was represented by me alone -- and that is not a good thing.

But here is how the NL SBN bloggers voted for Manager of the Year.  The weird thing is the SBN vote is normally a pretty good predictor for the real outcome as voted on by the baseball writers.  I'm not sure that is a good thing, but it has worked that way in the past.

NL Manager of the Year.


National League 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Lou Piniella 9 4 2 59
Charlie Manuel 2 6 5 33
Fredi Gonzalez 3 2 3 24
Joe Torre 2 2 3 19
Tony LaRussa 2 - - 10
Ned Yost - 3 1 10
Cecil Cooper - 1 2 5
Manny Acta 1 - - 5
Dale Sveum - 1 1 4
Jerry Manuel - - 1 1

My votes:

1. Fredi Gonzalez

2. Charlie Manuel

3. Joe Torre

Okay, I'm a homer, so sue me.  And not to mention that I could only stomach voting for one manager who had a $118 million dollar payroll or more.

Your thoughts may very.