clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marlins turn back the clock

It's time to breakout the teal, once again.  Tonight, the Marlins will officially honor their very own champions of the 1997 World Series.  One part of the honor is the Fish will be wearing the throw back uniforms from the team's first championship.  Also before the game they will honoring 14 players who brought the first trophy home to South Florida.

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Marlins' 1997 World Series title, 14 players from that team will be introduced before tonight's game against the Cleveland Indians.

The players expected to attend are: Alex Arias, Kurt Abbott, Darren Daulton, Todd Dunwoody, John Cangelosi, Dennis Cook, Jim Eisenreich, Alex Fernandez, Charles Johnson, Al Leiter, Jay Powell, Pat Rapp and Devon White.

In addition to the pregame introductions honoring the '97 team, which defeated the Indians in seven games, the current Marlins will wear throwback uniforms -- the vest tops worn that season -- against the Indians.

Also, the first 10,000 fans attending tonight's game will receive a replica 1997 World Series ring.

So hustle out to the game and you may be able to score an autograph from one of the former players, not to mention a replica ring.  It isn't quite as gaudy as the 2003 ring but that isn't necessarily a bad thing.