clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2008 Ford C. Frick Award

It's that time of year again.

Their voices have informed and entertained Marlins baseball fans for years. Now their work is being considered for their profession's highest honor, the prestigious 2008 Ford C. Frick Award.


Since their inaugural season of 1993, the Marlins have certainly had their share of esteemed announcers.

Three highly regarded broadcasters of Marlins games are eligible for the Frick Award, presented annually by the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Lead radio play-by-play announcer Dave Van Horne, along with FOX Sports Net Florida Marlins TV announcers Rich Waltz and Tommy Hutton are eligible for the honor.

The award is presented annually to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball."

Here is the ballot: 2008 Ford C. Frick Award.

While you don't have to vote for Dave, Rich or Tommy, but since you can vote everyday in November for three of the people on the list, it might be nice (in the vernacular of Dontrelle Willis)  to throw a little love in their direction.

If anyone votes for Tim McCarver, I will personally come to your house and kick you in the shins.