clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

HOF Ballot is Out

As I'm sure you know, this year's Hall of Fame Ballot was announced yesterday and will be in the mail, shortly, to the qualifying members of the BBWAA.  Here are the names that will appear on the ballot.

The complete ballot:

Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Dante Bichette, Bert Blyleven, Bobby Bonilla, Scott Brosius, Jay Buhner, Ken Caminiti, Jose Canseco, Dave Concepcion, Eric Davis, Andre Dawson, Tony Fernandez, Steve Garvey, Rich "Goose" Gossage, Tony Gwynn, Orel Hershiser, Tommy John, Wally Joyner, Don Mattingly, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Paul O'Neill, Dave Parker, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken Jr., Bret Saberhagen, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Devon White, Bobby Witt.

In order to be elected into the Hall of Fame, a player must receive a vote from 75 percent of the returned ballots.  For a player who is not selected and receives a vote on 5 percent of the returned ballots, he will stay on the ballot for next year.  One codicil: a player can only be on the ballot for 15 years.

As you have no doubt have heard we are entering the so-called "steroid era" with this year's vote.  I may have more to say on this later - I'm still collecting my thoughts on this issue.  But if you have already formed an opinion, feel free to comment.