clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cabrera - Sliver Slugger

Miguel Cabrera will be the proud recipient the Sliver Slugger Award for the second straight year - this year it was at third base.  Cabrera won the award as an outfielder last year.

Here is the list of the NL Winners.

National League
1B - Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies
2B - Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies
3B - Miguel Cabrera, Florida Marlins
SS - Jose Reyes, New York Mets
OF - Carlos Beltran, New York Mets
OF - Alfonso Soriano, Washington Nationals
OF - Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies
C - Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P - Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs

The award isn't completely statistically based.

Louisville Slugger's Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball® coaches and managers. The votes were for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2006. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

And now for the history of the Sliver Slugger award - hey, you never know when it will come up on final Jeopardy and you will thank me later if it does.

The specially designed Silver Slugger Award will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball, in a ceremony early in the 2006 season. The trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league.

The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by H&B in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award which is, as its name indicates, a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL.

Two other Marlins have won a Sliver Slugger besides Cabrera: Gary Sheffield in 1993 and 1996 and Mike Lowell in 2002.

Congrats Miggy!