clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Time for the Ford C. Frick Award Voting

This is your chance to lend your voice as to who will be on the final ballot to enter the Hall of Fame as an announcer.  The Frick Award is awarded annually to a broadcaster in recognition for their contributions to the game.

As it so happens there are three of the present Marlins announcers are on the list.

Now three highly regarded Florida broadcasters are eligible for the esteemed 2007 Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually by the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Lead radio play-by-play announcer Dave Van Horne, along with Fox Sports Net Florida Marlins TV announcers Rich Waltz and Tommy Hutton are eligible for the honor.

The Hall of Fame list the voting criteria as:

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous Major League broadcast service with a ballclub, network or a combination of the two.

Fans will have the opportunity to vote for up to three of the nearly 200 broadcasters eligible for consideration for the Frick Award. Fans are allowed to vote once daily. Results will be announced in early December. The fans' selections, along with the full ballot of 10 candidates, will be announced in late January.

Here is the list of past recipients of the award.

In normal years there are a lot possible nominees available from which to choose and this year is no exception.  So go and look at the list and chose the ones you feel would be most deserving of the honor.  You can vote here.

But since you can vote everyday - maybe you might want to vote for the Marlins threesome on one of those days.  It never hurts to be a homer for a day.