clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The A-Train is a Winner

No, the Cy Young Award winner hasn't been announced yet (and I'm still hoping that Dontrelle Willis wins that, but I'm not getting my hopes too high either).

Yesterday, Dontrelle Willis was named the winner of the Warren Spahn Award, which is given to the best left-handed starter in the majors.

Considering that the award is only given to lefties, it was pretty much a given that Dontrelle would win this year. Andy Pettitte finished second and Johan Santana finished third. While both had great seasons, Willis' was almost universally regarded as greater. That's a pretty heady statement. And it's a great award for Mr. Willis.

Congratulations Dontrelle! Thanks for a great season.